Best Angle Grinders: Price Tiers and Picks
Last reviewed October 31, 2026. Prices were listed by the retailer as of Oct 30, 2026 and can change. Confirm the current price and availability on the retailer's page before you buy.
Start with the budget question. That is a wide spread. Knowing where you sit in it narrows the field fast.
What changes between tiers? At the low end, you find corded grinders and bare cordless tools. Mid-range listings often add batteries and chargers as a kit. The top of the range is mostly a different class of tool altogether. Of the 109 models, 64 are cordless. Of the cordless group, listings commonly name a battery platform such as M18, M12, XGT 40V or 20V MAX. A platform is a family of batteries that fit a brand's tools. If you already own batteries, a bare tool on that platform can cost less than a full kit.
The first spec to settle is wheel diameter. to 5 in., and 5 in. Diameter sets the largest wheel the guard and spindle are built to take. A bigger wheel generally reaches deeper into a cut, though it does not by itself mean a given model is stronger.
Next is power. Corded grinders state power in amps. Motor current is simply how much electrical current the motor draws, so a higher number means a bigger draw, not proven better output. Multiplying volts by amp-hours gives a rough energy figure for comparing packs.
Two more terms show up often. A brushless motor is a motor design that drops the carbon brushes of older designs. In this group, 92 percent of models are listed as brushless. A paddle switch is a lever you squeeze along the body to run the tool; releasing it stops the tool. Read the listing for each to see whether it is stated.
Buying checklist
- Choose corded or cordless based on where you will work.
- Confirm the wheel diameter and that your discs match it.
- If cordless, check whether you already own a battery platform.
- Read the in-the-box line to see if batteries and a charger are stated.
- Look for brushless and paddle switch in the listing text.
- Compare corded models by amps and cordless models by volts and amp-hours.
- Note the weight if you will hold the tool overhead or for long stretches.
How to choose
Wheel diameter
Match the wheel size to the work. The picks here list 4-1/2 in., 4.5 in. to 5 in., and 5 in. sizes. Check the listing for the wheel size the grinder takes, and make sure the discs you plan to buy match it. Masonry cutting and metal grinding often use different discs, so confirm the guard fits the one you choose.
Corded amps or cordless voltage
Corded grinders state amps, such as 10.5 A on the budget pick. Cordless ones state voltage, such as 18 V, 20 V or 40 V. These numbers are not directly comparable. Amps tell you how much current a corded motor draws. Volts describe a battery system. Compare corded to corded and cordless to cordless.
Battery platform and capacity
A platform is the brand battery family. The packs here list M18, 20V MAX and XGT 40V. Capacity in amp-hours shows stored energy, such as 4 Ah, 5 Ah or 6 Ah. If you own tools on one platform, a bare tool from that same family may save money. Otherwise a kit is simpler.
Brushless motor
A brushless motor has no carbon brushes. About 92 percent of the 109 listed models state brushless, so it is common here, not rare. Look for the word in the listing. If a listing does not state it, treat it as unknown rather than assuming either way.
Switch type
A paddle switch runs the tool while you squeeze it along the body and stops when you let go. Not every listing names the switch type. One pick here states a paddle switch in its title. If switch style matters to you, check the listing text before you buy.
Configuration and box contents
A kit lists extras such as batteries. A bare tool is the tool only. Only 17 percent of listings state kit contents, so check the in-the-box line closely. If the listing does not say a battery or charger is included, do not assume one is.
Our picks from the catalog
These picks come from what the listings state: prices, specifications and kit contents. Each says which listed facts it is based on.

Milwaukee M18 FUEL 18V Lith-Ion Brushless Cordless 4-1/2 in. /5 in. Grinder Kit w/ Two 6.0 Ah Batteries & M18 Grinder
$279 to $786 · Kit · Voltage: 18 V · Brushless motor: Yes (stated in the listing) · Battery platform: M18 · Size / capacity: 4-1/2 in. · Battery capacity: 6 Ah
This Milwaukee M18 FUEL kit is chosen for the most listed specifications and kit items for its price, within the middle half of prices in this group ($279 to $786). It lists 18 V, a brushless motor, 4-1/2 in. size, 6 Ah capacity and 8,500 RPM. The listing states 2 batteries. Keep in mind that the box line does not name a charger, so check the listing before assuming one comes with it.

Makita 10.5 Amp 5 in. Angle Grinder
$209.00 · Size / capacity: 5 in. · Weight: 5.8 lb · Motor current: 10.5 A
The Makita GA5010Z is the lowest price, at $209.00, among the 105 models whose listings state at least two specifications. It is a corded-style listing at 10.5 A with a 5 in. size and a weight of 5.8 lb. No brushless claim appears in the listing.

Makita 40V max XGT Brushless Cordless 5 in. X-LOCK Paddle Switch Angle Grinder Kit, with Electric Brake (4.0Ah)
$564.00 · Kit · Voltage: 40 V · Brushless motor: Yes (stated in the listing) · Battery platform: XGT 40V · Size / capacity: 5 in. · Battery capacity: 4 Ah
This Makita XGT kit has the highest listed battery energy in this group, at 40 V and 4 Ah. The listing states a brushless motor, a 5 in. size, and a paddle switch in the title, along with an electric brake. It is priced at $564.00 and is listed as a kit. Keep in mind that the box contents are not spelled out, so check which batteries or charger are included.

DeWalt 20V MAX Cordless 4.5 in. - 5 in. Grinder, (1) 20V 5.0Ah Battery, and Charger
$340.99 · Kit · Voltage: 20 V · Battery platform: 20V MAX · Size / capacity: 4.5 in. · Battery capacity: 5 Ah · Max speed: 8,000 RPM
The DeWalt DCG412P1 has the most complete kit contents stated here. The listing states 1 battery, a charger, and a case or bag, at $340.99. It lists 20 V on the 20V MAX platform, a 5 Ah battery, a 4.5 in. to 5 in. size and 8,000 RPM. Keep in mind that the listing does not state a brushless motor, so check that detail if it matters to you.
Skip it if...
- Skip a bare tool if you do not already own batteries on that platform, since the listing sells the tool only.
- Skip any listing that does not state its configuration if you need a battery or charger, because nothing is promised in the box.
- Skip a corded model if you need to work far from an outlet, because it draws motor current from the wall.
- Skip a grinder whose wheel size does not match the discs you own, since diameter sets which wheels it takes.
Frequently asked questions
How many angle grinders are listed and what do they cost?
The group lists 109 models, all typed as angle grinders. Of these, 64 are cordless. Brands listed include Makita with 39 models, Milwaukee with 36, DeWalt with 12, Hilti with 10, JET with 3 and AirCat with 2.
What is a battery platform?
A platform is a brand's family of batteries that fit its tools. This group lists M18 on 21 models, M12 on 13, XGT 40V on 10 and 20V MAX on 4. A bare tool on a platform you already own can mean you only buy the tool itself.
What does brushless mean on a grinder?
Brushless describes a motor design without carbon brushes. In this group, 92 percent of models are listed as brushless, so it is common. It is a stated feature, not a promise of better performance, so check whether each listing says it, since not every one does.
Do the amp and voltage numbers compare directly?
No. Corded grinders state motor current in amps, like the 10.5 A budget pick. Cordless ones state voltage, like 18 V, 20 V or 40 V, plus battery amp-hours. Compare corded with corded and cordless with cordless. Multiplying volts by amp-hours gives a rough battery energy figure.