🚚 FREE SHIPPING
🎯 CUSTOMER SUPPORT
⭐ TOP BRANDS
🔒 SECURE CHECKOUT
Our Sites
We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this site. How we make money
Home / Best Tool for the Job / Best Jig Saws
Best tool for the job

Best Jig Saws for Curves and Cutouts

Last reviewed October 31, 2026. Prices were listed by the retailer as of Oct 30, 2026 and can change. Confirm the current price and availability on the retailer's page before you buy.

Short answer. For curved cuts and cutouts, the main decisions are battery platform and whether you buy a bare tool or a kit. Among the 20 listed models, the four picks below cover value, budget, high battery energy and kit contents.

The catalog lists 20 jig saws, all typed as Jig saw, from six brands: Makita has 9 listings, Milwaukee 4, Bosch 2, DeWalt 2, Hilti 2 and Ryobi 1. Of the 20, 16 are cordless, and the listings group them by battery platform: LXT 18V has 4 models, 20V MAX has 2, NURON 22V has 2 and XGT 40V has 2. They also split by configuration: 10 are bare tools, 6 are kits and 4 do not state a configuration. Brushless motors are stated in 81 percent of the listings.

That grouping points to the decision that matters most. A battery platform is a family of tools that share the same batteries and chargers. If you already own batteries from one brand, a bare jig saw on that platform can be the cheapest way in, because you only pay for the tool. If you own none, a kit that lists a battery may save you from buying one separately, though the listing alone does not always say what is in the box. The second decision is corded versus cordless. A corded saw draws power from an outlet and has no battery to manage, while a cordless saw gives up the cord in exchange for batteries and charging. In this catalog, 16 of the 20 models are cordless.

The third decision is handle style. A barrel-grip jig saw is held around a rounded body, which many people find natural for following a line close to the work. A top-handle saw has a grip on top of the body, which is the more common layout for general cutting. A listing may name the handle style, as one top-handle kit below does, but many do not, so check the product page before buying. Curves, plunge-style cutouts and countertop sink openings all call for steady control, so how the saw sits in your hand matters as much as any number on the spec sheet.

Our picks from the catalog

These picks come from what the listings state: prices, specifications and kit contents. Each says which listed facts it is based on.

Milwaukee M12 12V Fuel Lithium-Ion Cordless Jig Saw with M12 XC 4.0 Ah Battery Pack
Best overall pick by value

Milwaukee M12 12V Fuel Lithium-Ion Cordless Jig Saw with M12 XC 4.0 Ah Battery Pack

$283 to $508 · Kit · Voltage: 12 V · Brushless motor: Yes (stated in the listing) · Battery platform: M12 · Battery capacity: 5 Ah

This Milwaukee M12 Fuel jig saw kit is the value pick because it offers the most listed specifications and kit items for the price, within the middle half of prices in this group ($283 to $508). The listing states a 12 V system, a brushless motor, the M12 platform and a 5 Ah battery capacity. Keep in mind that its price range is wide, up to $508, and the listing does not state what else is in the box.

Makita 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless Jig Saw (Tool Only)
Best budget pick

Makita 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless Jig Saw (Tool Only)

$219.00 · Bare tool · Voltage: 18 V · Brushless motor: Yes (stated in the listing) · Battery platform: LXT 18V

The Makita 18V LXT brushless jig saw is the budget pick at $219.00, the lowest price among the 16 models whose listings state at least two specifications. The listing states 18 V, a brushless motor and the LXT 18V platform. Keep in mind that it is listed as tool only, with no battery or charger stated, so you need LXT batteries and a charger already or must buy them separately.

Ryobi ONE+ HP 18V Brushless Cordless Jigsaw with ONE+18V 8.0 Ah Lithium EDGE Battery
Best for heavy use

Ryobi ONE+ HP 18V Brushless Cordless Jigsaw with ONE+18V 8.0 Ah Lithium EDGE Battery

$358.00 · Kit · Voltage: 18 V · Brushless motor: Yes (stated in the listing) · Battery platform: ONE+ 18V · Battery capacity: 8 Ah

The Ryobi ONE+ HP 18V brushless jig saw kit is the heavy-use pick because it has the highest listed battery energy in this group, at 18 V and 8 Ah. The listing also states a brushless motor and the ONE+ 18V platform, at $358.00. Higher listed energy describes the battery, not a cutting result.

Makita 12V max CXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless Top Handle Jig Saw Kit (2.0Ah)
Best kit

Makita 12V max CXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless Top Handle Jig Saw Kit (2.0Ah)

$234.00 · Kit · Voltage: 12 V · Brushless motor: Yes (stated in the listing) · Battery platform: CXT 12V · Battery capacity: 2 Ah · Weight: 4.1 lb

The Makita 12V max CXT top-handle jig saw kit is the kit pick because it has the most complete contents stated: the listing states 2 batteries. It is listed at $234.00 with a brushless motor, the CXT 12V platform, a 2 Ah capacity and a weight of 4.1 lb. Keep in mind that it is a 12 V system with 2 Ah batteries, so it is the smaller-battery option among these picks.

How to choose

Battery platform

A platform is a brand's family of batteries and chargers that fit many tools. The listings here include LXT 18V, 20V MAX, NURON 22V, XGT 40V, M12 and ONE+ 18V. Matching a saw to batteries you already own can lower the cost, since bare tools are listed without a battery. Switching platforms means buying new batteries.

Bare tool versus kit

A bare tool is listed as the tool only, with no battery or charger. A kit adds items such as batteries. In this catalog, 10 models are bare tools, 6 are kits and 4 do not state a configuration. Compare the kit contents and price, not just the headline number.

Brushless motor

A brushless motor is a motor design that avoids carbon brushes, which are small parts that wear. Brushless is stated in the listings for 81 percent of the models. The listing tells you whether a motor is brushless, but it does not by itself show how a given saw will cut, so use it as a feature check.

Voltage and battery capacity

Voltage is a battery system's electrical level, and amp-hours describe how much charge a battery holds. Multiplying them gives a rough energy figure. The picks here list 12 V and 18 V systems, with stated capacities of 2 Ah, 5 Ah and 8 Ah where given.

Handle style and weight

Barrel and top-handle designs change how you grip and steer the saw. Not every listing names the style or gives a weight. One pick states a weight of 4.1 lb. If the page lacks handle or weight details, look elsewhere on the listing or accept that you cannot compare them.

Price against what is stated

A lower price often means a bare tool, while a higher one may include batteries. Judge value by what the listing actually states: platform, battery capacity, brushless motor and box contents.

Skip it if...

  • Skip a bare tool if you own no batteries on that platform, since the Makita XVJ04Z is listed as tool only with no battery or charger stated.
  • Skip a listing that does not state its configuration if you need to know what is in the box; 4 of the 20 models do not state one.
  • Skip a kit if you already own batteries you like, since you may be paying for items you do not need.
  • Skip a model that does not state a brushless motor if that feature matters to you, since brushless is stated for 81 percent of listings, not all.

Buying checklist

  • Check which battery platform you already own.
  • Confirm whether the listing says bare tool or kit.
  • Read what the box contents state about batteries and charger.
  • Look for a stated brushless motor.
  • Note the voltage and amp-hour figures if a battery is included.
  • Find out whether the handle is barrel or top style.
  • Check for a stated weight if comfort matters.
  • Compare the price against the listed median of $295.46.

Frequently asked questions

How many jig saws are listed and what do they cost?

The catalog lists 20 jig saws. Of those, 16 are cordless. The saws come from Makita, Milwaukee, Bosch, DeWalt, Hilti and Ryobi, so you can compare several brands in one price band.

What does bare tool mean in the listings?

A bare tool is listed as the tool only, with no battery or charger stated. In this catalog, 10 models are bare tools, 6 are kits and 4 do not state a configuration. A kit adds items such as batteries, so check each listing for what it actually includes.

What is a battery platform?

A battery platform is a brand's family of batteries and chargers that work across many of its tools. The listings here include LXT 18V with 4 models, 20V MAX with 2, NURON 22V with 2 and XGT 40V with 2. Owning batteries on one platform can make a bare tool the cheaper choice.

Are the jig saws brushless?

A brushless motor is a motor design without carbon brushes. In the catalog, 81 percent of listings state a brushless motor. Each of the four picks states one. The listing tells you the motor type, but it does not by itself show how well a saw cuts.

What is the difference between corded and cordless?

A corded saw plugs into an outlet, while a cordless saw runs on batteries. In this catalog 16 of the 20 models are cordless, and all four picks are cordless. Cordless gives freedom from the cord but means managing batteries and a charger, which bare tools do not include.