Finish and Brad Nailers for Trim and Cabinets
Last reviewed October 31, 2026. Prices were listed by the retailer as of Oct 30, 2026 and can change. Confirm the current price and availability on the retailer's page before you buy.
You are standing in the aisle with a trim job waiting at home: baseboard in two rooms, a run of crown, and a set of cabinet face frames. One nailer on the shelf says $289 and another says $599. A third is a pneumatic model at $204.57 with no battery at all. The first decision is not about brand. It is whether you are buying a bare tool or a kit. A bare tool is the tool only, with no battery or charger. A kit is listed with batteries, a charger and often a bag. Of those, 28 are listed as bare tools, 48 as kits, and 33 do not state a configuration.
After that, gauge is the specification that drives the choice. Gauge describes nail thickness, and a higher number means a thinner nail. A 23-gauge pin nailer leaves a very small hole, a 16-gauge finish nailer uses a thicker nail, and an 18-gauge brad or narrow crown stapler sits in between. In plain terms, thinner fasteners are generally used where a small hole matters more than holding strength, and thicker ones where more holding power is wanted.
The second decision is cordless versus pneumatic. A pneumatic nailer runs on compressed air from a compressor and hose, so you supply those separately. A cordless model runs on a battery, and that battery belongs to a platform, meaning a family of tools that share the same battery pack. Here, 83 of the 109 models are cordless. The listed platforms are M18 (32 models), M12 (25), 20V MAX (7) and 18V (6). If you already own batteries from one platform, that can matter more than any single spec.
How to choose
Gauge for the work
Gauge is nail thickness, and a higher number means a thinner nail. The picks here are listed at 23, 18 and 16 gauge. Decide what you are fastening first: delicate trim pieces call for a thin pin or brad size, while heavier casing may call for a thicker finish nail. Buying on price before settling gauge is a common way to end up with the wrong tool.
Bare tool or kit
A bare tool is listed as the tool only, with no battery or charger. A kit lists batteries, a charger and sometimes a bag. Only 17 percent of listings state kit contents, so read the box contents line closely. If a listing does not say a battery is included, do not assume it is. Check what you already own before paying for extras.
Cordless or pneumatic
Pneumatic nailers need an air compressor and hose, which the listing for a pneumatic model does not include. Cordless models trade that setup for a battery. In this catalog 83 of 109 models are cordless. If you already have a compressor, a pneumatic model such as the 18-gauge Makita listed here can be the lower-cost route.
Battery platform
A battery platform is a family of tools that share one battery type. Milwaukee's M12 and M18 account for most listings here, with DeWalt's 20V MAX also present. A common mistake is buying a tool from a platform you do not own, then needing a second battery system. Matching platform to your existing batteries can lower the real cost of a bare tool.
Brushless motor
A brushless motor is a motor design that listings often highlight, and 60 percent of models here state it. In general it describes how the motor is built, not how a given nailer performs. Treat it as one listed feature among others, and compare it alongside gauge, battery capacity and what comes in the box.
Price against what is listed
Compare like with like: a kit with two batteries and a charger is not the same purchase as a bare tool. Some listings show a price range, so confirm the exact variant, model number and contents before you buy.
Skip it if...
- Skip a bare tool if you do not already own batteries and a charger on that platform, because the listing covers the tool only.
- Skip the pneumatic Makita if you have no compressor and hose, since neither is listed with it.
- Skip the 23-gauge pin nailer if your trim or cabinet work needs a thicker nail, as it is the thinnest gauge among these picks.
- Skip any kit listing that does not state its contents unless you can confirm a battery and charger are included.
Our picks from the catalog
These picks come from what the listings state: prices, specifications and kit contents. Each says which listed facts it is based on.

Milwaukee M12 12V 23GA Cordless Pin Nailer w/M12 12V 1/4 in. Hex Screwdriver Kit with 2 1.5Ah Batteries, Charger and Tool Bag
$289.00 · Kit · Voltage: 12 V · Battery platform: M12 · Size / capacity: 23-gauge · Battery capacity: 1.5 Ah
This pick rests on having the most listed specifications and kit items for the price, at $289.00, inside the middle half of prices in this group. It is a 23-gauge pin nailer on the 12 V M12 platform, and the listing states 2 batteries (1.5 Ah each), a charger and a bag. Keep in mind that 23-gauge is the thinnest size here, so it suits fine pinning rather than heavier fastening, and the listing does not state a brushless motor.

Makita Pneumatic 18-Gauge, 1/4 in. Narrow Crown Stapler
$204.57 · Size / capacity: 18-gauge · Weight: 2.7 lb
This is the lowest price, $204.57, among the 87 models whose listings state at least two specifications. It is a pneumatic 18-gauge, 1/4 in. narrow crown stapler listed at 2.7 lb. Being pneumatic, it would need an air compressor and hose, which the listing does not say are included.

Milwaukee M18 FUEL 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless Gen II 16-Gauge Angled Finish Nailer w/ High Output 6.0 Ah Battery
$599.00 · Kit · Voltage: 18 V · Brushless motor: Yes (stated in the listing) · Battery platform: M18 · Size / capacity: 16-gauge · Battery capacity: 6 Ah
This pick has the highest listed battery energy in the group, 18 V at 6 Ah, which is why it is placed here. It is a 16-gauge angled finish nailer on the M18 platform at $599.00, with a brushless motor stated in the listing. Keep in mind that the listing is marked as a kit but does not state its contents, so do not assume a charger or extra batteries without checking.

DeWalt 20V MAX XR Lithium-Ion Cordless 18-GA Narrow Crown Stapler Kit with 1/4 in. x 1 in. 18-GA Crown Staple (2500-Pieces)
$299 to $468 · Kit · Voltage: 20 V · Brushless motor: Yes (stated in the listing) · Battery platform: 20V MAX · Size / capacity: 18-gauge · Battery capacity: 3 Ah
This pick has the most complete kit contents stated: the listing states 1 battery, a charger and a bag. It is an 18-gauge narrow crown stapler on the 20V MAX platform, with a brushless motor stated and a 3 Ah battery, priced from $299 to $468. Keep in mind the wide price range, which suggests variants, so check which version includes the 2,500 staples and the exact contents.
Buying checklist
- Pick the gauge for your trim or cabinet task first
- Decide between cordless and pneumatic
- Check which battery platform you already own
- Confirm if the listing is a bare tool or a kit
- Read the in-the-box line for batteries and charger
- Confirm the exact model number and variant
- Note whether a brushless motor is stated
Frequently asked questions
How many nailers are listed in this guide's catalog?
The catalog lists 109 models, all categorized as nailer or stapler. Of these, 83 are cordless. Brands include Milwaukee (57 models), DeWalt (13), Makita (12), Senco (9), Ridgid (7) and Paslode (4).
What is the difference between a bare tool and a kit?
A bare tool is listed as the tool only, with no battery or charger. A kit is listed with additional items such as batteries, a charger and a bag. In this catalog 28 models are bare tools, 48 are kits, and 33 do not state a configuration.
What does nailer gauge mean?
Gauge describes nail thickness, with a higher number meaning a thinner nail. The picks here are listed at 23-gauge, 18-gauge and 16-gauge.
What is a battery platform?
A battery platform is a family of tools that share the same battery pack. The listed platforms here are M18 (32 models), M12 (25), 20V MAX (7) and 18V (6). Choosing a tool on a platform you already own can mean you only need the bare tool.
Does a brushless motor make a nailer better?
A brushless motor is a motor design, and 60 percent of the models here state it in the listing. In general it describes how the motor is built. The listings do not show that a specific nailer performs better because of it, so compare it with gauge, battery and contents.