🚚 FREE SHIPPING
🎯 CUSTOMER SUPPORT
⭐ TOP BRANDS
🔒 SECURE CHECKOUT
Our Sites
We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this site. How we make money
Home / Best Tool for the Job / Best Tool Chests and Cabinets
Best tool for the job

Best Tool Chests and Cabinets: What to Check First

Last reviewed October 31, 2026. Prices were listed by the retailer as of Oct 30, 2026 and can change. Confirm the current price and availability on the retailer's page before you buy.

Anyone who has shopped for power tools knows the difference between a bare tool and a kit. A bare tool is the tool alone; a kit adds the battery, charger or case. Tool storage has a similar trap. A listing may show a handsome chest, but the drawers, casters, lock or accessories you picture may not be part of what the listing says you get. Reading what is stated, and noticing what is not, saves more money than chasing the lowest price.

The catalog behind this guide lists 96 tool chest and cabinet models, from $225 to $31,579.99, with a median of $998. That spread is enormous, which tells you the category covers everything from a portable job-site box to a full shop cabinet system. The brands listed are GearWrench and Husky with 24 models each, Crescent with 16, Milwaukee with 13, DeWalt with 12 and WEN with 5. Only 2 percent of listings state kit contents, so most of the time you will need to read the listing closely to learn what is included.

Five specifications drive the decision. Width sets how much floor or wall space the unit takes and how much you can lay out inside. Drawer count shows how you can separate hand tools, power tool accessories and small parts. Weight capacity matters because steel sockets, wrenches and corded tools add up quickly, and a drawer or the whole unit can only carry what it is built to carry. Casters let a cabinet roll across the garage, which helps in a shared space but only if the listing says the unit has them. Material, such as steel or a heavier gauge, affects how the box is built, though a listing alone cannot tell you how it will hold up over the years. Decide which of these matters most for your space, then filter the 96 models accordingly.

How to choose

Width and footprint

Measure the wall or floor space before looking at anything else. Width is the spec that decides whether a unit fits at all, and it also sets how much you can spread out inside. A narrow unit saves room but holds less. Compare the listed width to your measurement, and remember that some listings give only one dimension, such as the 31 in. figure on the budget pick below.

Drawer count and layout

Drawer count tells you how many separate zones you get for hand tools, bits, fasteners and accessories. More drawers means finer sorting, but only if the listing states them. Some listings, especially for portable storage chests, describe a single lidded compartment instead. Decide whether you want to open one deep space or pull out many shallow trays.

Weight capacity

Weight capacity is the load the unit or each drawer is stated to carry. Hand tools in steel are heavy, so a full cabinet can weigh far more than it looks. If a listing does not state a capacity, treat it as unknown rather than assuming it is high. Compare listed figures only against what you plan to store.

Casters and mobility

Casters are the small wheels that let a cabinet roll. They are useful in a garage where you move the unit around a car or workbench, and unnecessary for something that stays against a wall. Check that the listing mentions casters or a portable design. A box described as portable, like a job-site chest, is meant to be carried, not rolled.

Material and lock

Material is usually steel or a similar metal, sometimes with a rigid shell. It affects how the box is built, but a catalog entry cannot tell you how it will last. Look separately at whether the listing mentions a lock or lock housing, since security matters more for a van or shared shop than for a home garage.

Our picks from the catalog

These picks come from what the listings state: prices, specifications and kit contents. Each says which listed facts it is based on.

Crescent Jobox 31 in. W x 18 in D x 15.5 in H Heavy Duty Portable Storage Chest with Embedded Lock Housing
Best budget pick

Crescent Jobox 31 in. W x 18 in D x 15.5 in H Heavy Duty Portable Storage Chest with Embedded Lock Housing

$225 to $487 · Size / capacity: 31 in.

The Crescent Jobox 651990D is the budget pick because it is the lowest price among the 94 models whose listings state at least one specification, at $225 to $487. Its listing gives the size as 31 in., with the title noting 18 in. deep and 15.5 in. high, and an embedded lock housing. The listing states a case or bag in the box. Keep in mind that it is a portable storage chest, and the listing does not state drawer count, weight capacity or casters.

Skip it if...

  • Skip the budget pick if you need many separate drawers, since its listing states a size of 31 in. but no drawer count.
  • Skip it if you want a rolling cabinet, because the listing does not state casters and it is described as a portable chest.
  • Skip any listing where the price range is wide and the contents are unclear, because only 2 percent of listings state kit contents.
  • Skip the top of the market, which runs up to $31,579.99, if you only need to organize a modest set of hand tools and power tool accessories.

Buying checklist

  • Measure your wall or floor space and compare it to the listed width.
  • Decide how many drawers or compartments you want.
  • Find the stated weight capacity, or treat it as unknown.
  • Check whether casters are mentioned if you want to roll it.
  • Note the material and whether a lock is described.
  • Read what is stated in the box, and do not assume extras.
  • Compare the price range shown against the median of $998.

Frequently asked questions

How many tool chest and cabinet models are listed?

The catalog behind this guide lists 96 models of tool chests and cabinets. Of those, 94 have listings that state at least one specification. The brands listed are GearWrench and Husky with 24 each, Crescent with 16, Milwaukee with 13, DeWalt with 12 and WEN with 5.

What is the price range?

Listed prices run from $225 to $31,579.99, and the median is $998. That is a very wide spread, so it helps to settle your width, drawer count and mobility needs first, then compare only the models that fit, instead of browsing the whole range.

Do these listings state whether a battery or charger is included?

Tool chests and cabinets are not cordless tools, and the catalog shows no cordless models, no platforms and no brushless data for this category. The one pick lists a case or bag in the box. Read each listing for what is included, because only 2 percent state kit contents.

What does weight capacity mean?

Weight capacity is the load a unit or drawer is stated to carry. It matters because tool collections are heavy.

Why does the casters spec matter?

Casters are small wheels that let a cabinet roll, which helps when you share a garage with a car or need to move storage around. They only help if the listing states them. The budget pick is described as a portable chest, and its listing does not mention casters.